City unveils 40 winning names for O-Train vehicles


Last week, Mayor Jim Watson, Transit Commission Chair Stephen Blais, Transportation Committee Chair Keith Egli, and Transportation Services General Manager John Manconi joined together at Ben Franklin Place to announce the winning submissions of the Name the Trains Contest that will become the new Light Rail Transit (LRT) car names for Ottawa’s next generation of O-Train riders.


The young winners had the opportunity to meet OC Owl, talk with Electric Light Rail Operator Instructors, and were treated to a pizza party after the presentation ceremony. Certificates were presented to the youth who submitted the chosen names and each winner also received two golden tickets for the inaugural ride on the O-Train Confederation Line when it launches later this year.


The names were submitted through the Name the Trains Contest, which was open to children and youth 16 years of age and under. The contest ran from November 5 to December 8, 2017. The City received a total of 1,899 name entries and after much deliberation, the selection committee was able to narrow the search to 40 winning names that truly celebrate our country’s culture, people, animals, history and natural world. The winning names will be placed on the trains in time for the launch of the O-Train Confederation Line.


The winning submissions are:

Trillium Line train cars:


  • Nanuq • Polar Bear
  • Northern Lights
  • Rocket Richard
  • Dreamcatcher
  • Emily Murphy
  • Portage


Confederation Line train cars:


  • Canada Goose
  • Farley Mowat
  • Gord Downie
  • Inuksuk
  • John McCrae
  • Logdriver • Draveur
  • Lord Stanley
  • Louis Riel
  • Majestic Moose
  • Odawa
  • Poppy
  • Snowbird
  • Bluenose
  • Boreal
  • Emily Carr
  • Jacques Cartier
  • Juno
  • Nathan Cirillo
  • Normandy
  • Samuel de Champlain
  • Thomas D’Arcy McGee
  • Totem
  • Tundra
  • Wagosh • Fox
  • Acadia
  • Agnes Macphail
  • Amik • Beaver
  • Bertha Wilson
  • Billy Bishop
  • Eh-Train
  • Henrietta Edwards
  • Maple Taffy
  • The Mountie
  • George Brown



On behalf of the City of Ottawa, I would like to thank all the children and youth who submitted so many creative and inspiring names.


For more information on the O-Train Confederation Line, please visit OC Transpo’s Ready for Rail web section at