Mayor Watson inducts Order of Ottawa recipients and the Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching recipient


This week, Mayor Jim Watson inducted 16 of Ottawa’s most outstanding residents into the Order of Ottawa during a ceremony at Ottawa City Hall.


Those inducted by Mayor Watson into the Order of Ottawa are: Steve Barkhouse, Thomas d’Aquino, C. Jane Dobell, Édith Dumont, Safaa Fouda, Claude Gingras, Lawson A.W. Hunter, Guy Laflamme, Dr. Bernard Leduc, Cyril Leeder, Todd Nicholson, Drs. Lucy and Rod Rabb, Jozef Straus, William Tupper and Sheila Whyte.


The Brian Kilrea Award for Excellence in Coaching was presented to Stephen Dean, who was recognized for his dedication to amateur football in Ottawa. Mr. Dean has served as President of the National Capital Amateur Football Association since 2005.


A list of Order of Ottawa inductees will be prominently displayed on a wall on the first floor of City Hall alongside the recipients from previous ceremonies.


This civic award recognizes exceptional citizen contributions in the many areas of city life, including arts and culture, business, community service, education, public service, labour, communications and media, science, medicine, sports and entertainment, or other fields of endeavour that benefit the residents of Ottawa.


Recipients of the Order of Ottawa were chosen by a Selection Committee comprised of the Mayor, City Clerk and Solicitor, Chief of Police, Chief of Protocol, City Archivist and the Chief Executive Officer, Library Services.


For more information regarding the Order of Ottawa and the full biographies of the recipients, visit the Order of Ottawa page on