Nominations now open for the 2017 Ottawa Urban Design Awards

2017 marks the seventh edition of the Ottawa Urban Design Awards, a biennial awards program that celebrates projects built in the City of Ottawa that achieve urban design excellence. The awards this year will honour exceptional projects built in Ottawa between September 1, 2015 and September 1, 2017.


Nominations will be accepted online from June 1 until August 10, 2017 at 4 p.m. The competition is open to urban designers, planners, landscape architects, architects, engineers, developers, contractors, consultants, artists, land owners, students and the general public who have contributed to Ottawa’s urban design landscape.


The awards ceremony will be held in the fall of 2017. Awards will be presented in five categories:

    • Urban Infill
    • Public Places and Civic Spaces
    • Urban Elements
    • Student Projects
    • Visions and Master Plans and/or Design Guidelines.


Awards of Excellence or Awards of Merit may be presented in each category. Winners of an Award of Excellence will be sent forward as the Ottawa entry to the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s Urban Design Awards competition in 2018.


For more information, please visit