2016 CPO Community Safety Awards

On Monday November 7th, I had the sincere privilege as the Chair of Crime Prevention Ottawa (CPO) to attend the 8th annual Community Safety Awards held at City Hall. Mayor Jim Watson along with Ottawa Police Chief Charles Bordeleau kicked off this year’s ceremony proclaiming the week of November 7th Crime Prevention Week in the City of Ottawa. Every year during Crime Prevention Week in November, CPO hold the awards to recognize the people and programs that have made a difference in preventing crime and making communities safer across the city.

The Community Safety Awards recognize community leaders in the following categories:

  • Volunteer Award
  • Community Volunteer Program Award
  • Community Program Award
  • Leadership Award
  • Youth Engagement Award
  • Enforcement Professional Award
  • City Employee Award
  • Youth Worker Award

The award winners for this year are:

  • Community Program Award: Daisy’s Drop-In
  • Volunteer Award: Louis Caron
  • Youth Program Award: In Love…and In Danger
  • Enforcement Professional Award: Cst. Dawn Neilly, Ottawa Police Service
  • Cyber Safety Award: Projet #CACS, CALACS francophone d’Ottawa
  • Business Engagement Award: Staff Sgt. Gary Cashman (Stittsville resident), Ottawa Police Service
  • Youth Leadership Development Award: The Door Youth Centre

Three finalists were also recognized:

  • Vince Grant, School Resource Officer, Sir Guy Carleton Secondary School
  • Denis Rouleau, community volunteer
  • Rainbow Spring Fling for LGBTQ youth

Congratulations to both the winners and finalists.  You are true community leaders and an inspiration to others proving that your efforts to promote and engage in your communities can make a difference.

To view the videos of the winners, please visit www.crimepreventionottawa.ca or our YouTube Channel.

Rogers Television will broadcast the awards ceremony on ‘Podium’ on Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at 7 pm on Cable 22.