Councillor’s View – Stittsville Appreciation Awards

Hello residents,

The Annual Stittsville Appreciation Awards are quickly approaching and I would like to sincerely invite all residents to join me on this momentous occasion.

For the past eight years, The Stittsville Appreciation Awards celebrate remarkable community builders and the spirit of volunteerism. This is the ceremony’s eighth year in its current incarnation. The model is a revival of the original Goulbourn Appreciation Awards (GAAs) which functioned from 1990-2002.

The longstanding tradition of the awards which still remains to this day is the Roger Griffiths Memorial Award which has been active since the GAA’s inauguration. The award honours the life and achievements of an outstanding member of the Goulbourn community, Roger Griffiths.

Roger served as a Goulbourn Township Councillor from 1977 to 1978 and again from 1982 to 1988. As President of the Stittsville Legion for five terms, Roger received many awards, including the Meritorious Service Medal, The Golden Anniversary Medal and The Diamond Jubilee Medal. He was a valued member of the Stittsville Volunteer Fire Department until his retirement, as Captain, in 1978. He played a key role in the creation of the Stittsville Cenotaph and was a member of the Masonic Lodge. Roger found the time to coach many minor hockey teams and serve as an executive with the Stittsville 56ers senior softball team. He enjoyed singing in the choir at St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church and playing Santa Claus for the Stittsville Sunshine Club. In the way he lived, Roger Griffiths exemplified community spirit. This is the same spirit I wanted to revive with the awards ceremony.

There are wonderful examples everywhere in the community that remind me of Mr. Griffiths. This is why the awards were expanded to include Youth Citizen of the Year (1999), Senior Citizen of the Year (2001), and Business of the Year (2001) which all remain active to date. Some examples of this spirit can be seen in last year’s winners: Cathy Skinner with the Roger Griffiths award, Robin Derrick with the Senior of the Year, Namintha Abraham for Youth of the Year, and Brown’s Independent Grocer for Business of the Year.

This year, my office received 35 nominations split amongst the 4 categories.

It is a privilege to have so many dedicated members of our community serve as examples for us all, along with residents who have taken the time to express their appreciation by nominating a deserving individual.

I hope to see many of you in attendance at the Goulbourn Recreation Center on May 10 from 7:00 – 9:00 PM to honour the many contributions these individuals and businesses have made in enhancing the quality of life for everyone in the Stittsville community.

As your Councillor, I am always interested in hearing about community spirit and events you may witness in the area. Please do not hesitate to contact me with any kindness deserving of recognition. And if you are interested in attending this year’s Awards, please RSVP by email to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s